Home

Some Vegetarian Food Isn't

3087 views

9 posts

Last post 06/01/2016

      Original post

      And you really have to use intuition sometimes.
      Note that this otherwise-safe website will blind you with a popup asking you to subscribe to their newsletter. Isn't that annoying?
      Just find the 'X' in the upper-right corner, click it to zap the popup, and go on to the article.

      http://www.eatthis.com/12-vegetarian-foods-secretly-hiding-animal-by-products

        "Bever b#£t Juice" is in vanilla ice cream? what!?!?

        This list basically bans most sugar(which is found in everything), and some other stuff that seems impossible to avoid.

        I can go ahead and eat Peanuts out of the shell, and the potato chips and sweets are easy to avoid, but Bananas, OJ, and Bagels?

        Unreal!

          This website makes a lot of assumptions, and seems to be more about telling people to buy certain brands over others. Orange juice is bad...but drink Tropicana orange juice. It's ok.

          And then it ends with, "Buy our new book, How to Lose Weight Without Actually Doing Any Work".

            Yeah, I would ignore the hype, but it does offer some things to look out for.

            It's like gummy fruits, gummy worms and bears. They are often made with gelatin. So if interested, I would shop for gummy bears and worms made with Kosher Gelatin. Kosher gelatin doesn't use animal by-products and is made from plant sources.

              Anyone who's a vegetarian should know about gelatin. It's the food made with hair that needs more warning. That's just gross no matter what you eat.

                Gelatin is definately a no no, but their are the alternatives and many supermarkets now do Gelatine free candy.

                I am Vegetarian, but I can't say I'm strict even though I don't eat meat, fish, or chicken. I can't prevent accidental consumption of things(like the items the article explains) and I don't get upset over it.

                  MaccaMeri:Gelatin is definately a no no, but their are the alternatives and many supermarkets now do Gelatine free candy.

                  I am Vegetarian, but I can't say I'm strict even though I don't eat meat, fish, or chicken. I can't prevent accidental consumption of things(like the items the article explains) and I don't get upset over it.

                  That's a good attitude. Eat what's best for you but don't get too obsessed about it all.

                  Except with food made from human hair. That's just wrong.

                    Audley's Piano:Yeah, I would ignore the hype, but it does offer some things to look out for.

                    It's like gummy fruits, gummy worms and bears. They are often made with gelatin. So if interested, I would shop for gummy bears and worms made with Kosher Gelatin. Kosher gelatin doesn't use animal by-products and is made from plant sources.

                    Just FYI...Kosher Gelatin is Beef. Not veggie unless it states it is veggie.

                    Not an expert on Jewish dietary laws, but I sell a lot of stuff with gelatin in it and have people looking for 'pork free' options so I learned to read Kosher labels a bit

                      OH and BTW, Gelatin is good for you. It helps your hair grow and your skin and keeps your joints from wearing away.

                      There are veggie options though like MSM and Silica for hair and joint health